Opportunities > Design for Asia Awards 2022
30 Jun 2022

Design for Asia Awards 2022

The DFA Design for Asia Awards calls for applications from designers and organisations for produced designs which were available (in the case of commercial products) in one or more Asian market between 1 January 2020 and 31 May 2022. 

The award is the flagship programme of the Hong Kong Design Centre (HKDC), celebrating design excellence and acknowledging outstanding designs with Asian perspectives. Since its launch in 2003, the DFA Design for Asia Awards has been a stage upon which design talents and corporations can showcase their design projects internationally.

Entrants may submit design projects in one of 28 categories under six key design disciplines: 

  • Communication Design
  • Fashion and Accessory Design
  • Product and Industrial Design
  • Spatial Design
  • Digital and Motion Design 
  • Service and Experience Design

In two rounds of judging, entries will be accessed according to the overall excellence as well as factors like: creativity and human centric innovation, usability, aesthetic, sustainability, impact in Asia, and commercial and societal success

Entries for Silver Award, Bronze Award or Merit Award will be selected according to their design excellence at the first-round judging, while Grand Award or Gold Award will be conferred to finalists after the final round judging.

Application guidelines 

Deadline: 30 June 2022 

Products must be delivered to the competition organisers by 8 July 2022.

The Asian markets relevant in this award include the following ASEM countries: Bangladesh, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, India, Indonesia, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Laos PDR, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Viet Nam.