News & events > European Union Prize for Literature winners announced
01 May 2015

European Union Prize for Literature winners announced


The European Union Prize for Literature 2015 winners were announced at the London Book Fair. The award recognises the best up-and-coming authors in Europe and is open to countries participating in Creative Europe, the EU funding programme for the cultural and creative sectors.

The winners were announced at the opening ceremony of the London Book Fair by Tibor Navracsics, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport.

The European Union Prize for Literature is organised by the European Commission in cooperation with the European Booksellers' Federation, the European Writers' Council and the Federation of European Publishers.

This year’s winners are:
Carolina Schutti (Austria) for Einmal muss ich über weiches Gras gelaufen sein (Once I must have trodden soft grass). Otto Müller Verlag, 2012.
Luka Bekavac (Croatia) for Viljevo. Fraktura, 2013.
Gaëlle Josse (France) for Le dernier gardien d’Ellis Island (The last guardian of Ellis Island). Editions Noir sur Blanc, 2014.
Edina Szvoren (Hungary) for Nincs, és ne is legyen (There Is None, Nor Let There Be). Palatinus, 2012.
Donal Ryan (Ireland) for The Spinning Heart (Le cœur qui tourne). Doubleday Ireland, 2013.
Lorenzo Amurri (Italy) for Apnea. Fandango Libri, 2013.
Undinė Radzevičiūtė (Lithuania) for Žuvys ir drakonai (Fishes and Dragons). Baltos lankos, 2013.
Ida Hegazi Høyer (Norway) for Unnskyld (Forgive me). Tiden Norsk Forlag, 2014.
Magdalena Parys (Poland) for Magik (Magician). Świat Książki, 2014.
David Machado (Portugal) for Índice Médio de Felicidade (Average Happiness Index). Dom Quixote, 2013.
Svetlana Zuchova (Slovakia) for Obrazy zo života M. (Scenes from the Life of M.). Marenčin PT, 2013.
Sara Stridsberg (Sweden) for Beckomberga - ode till min familj (The Gravity of Love). Albert Bonniers Förlag, 2014.

About the prize

  • Every year national juries in a third of participating countries - 12 this time around - nominate the winners.

  • Each winner receives €5,000. More importantly, they gain international visibility and from the prestige of the award.