05 Jun 2017

Southeast Asia sound art book wins Golden Nica

Not Your World Music: Noise In South East Asia” is a book about art, politics, identity, gender and global capitalism. And it is one of the very few works about noise & sound art and about electro-acoustic, experimental and industrial music of the past and present in Southeast Asia.

The book and CD compilation project was awarded one of this year's prestigious Golden Nica Awards in the Prix Ars Electronica:
“(…) an outstanding book and CD compilation project.” – Statement of the Jury

This volume contains political, historical and sociological essays and interviews with artists as well as an extensive bibliography on Southeast Asian music and noise & experimental musicians. Its compilers define “Not Your World Music: Noise in South East Asia” as a political, anti-sexist and anti-colonial contribution to a discourse on society, social representation, inequality, marginalization and colonialism.

From academic electronic music to do-it-yourself noise in South East Asia. Contemporary and past noise, electroacoustic, industrial, experimental music and sound art in Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar/Burma, The Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam. With political, historical and sociological essays, exclusive interviews with artists and organizers, as well as an extensive bibliography of popular music from South East Asia and a thorough discography of noise and experimental music artists.
"The first book aiming to chart the spread of noise music across South East Asia" - The Wire Magazine

Softcover and electronic versions available

Not Your World Music: Noise in South East Asia, Book & CD / Cedrik Fermont (CD/BE/DE), Dimitri della Faille (BE/CA) was awarded the Golden Nica in the category "Digital Musics / Sound Art" at the Prix Ars Electronica in 2017.

Read more about the project: Not Your World Music

Read about all the Golden Nica award winners at the Prix Ars Electronica 2017

Similar content

16 Dec 2011
26 Sep 2011
25 Apr 2011
26 Aug 2011
29 Nov 2013 - 03 Dec 2013
15 May 2014