Opportunities > Prix Ars Electronica 2014 | international competition for CyberArts
07 Mar 2014

Prix Ars Electronica 2014 | international competition for CyberArts


Screen Shot 2014-02-11 at 06.54.11

Call for submissions for the “New” Prix Ars Electronica. In 2014, there is a mix of Annual and Biennial categories for entries to this major international CyberArts competition and a new Golden Nica Award for Visionary Pioneers of Media Art.

Deadline for entries: March 7 2014

In order to continue to give all artistic works the attention they deserve and thereby maintain the competition’s high level of quality, a few organizational changes are now being implemented. First off, two groups of two categories—Interactive Art and Hybrid Art; Digital Musics & Sound Art and Digital Communities—will now alternate every other year. Computer Animation /Film /VFX, u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD and [the next Idea] voestalpine Art and Technology Grant will continue to be staged every year.

Read more about the Categories

This mix of annual and biennial categories opens up an opportunity to focus more intensely on the historical development of media art. The Golden Nica for Visionary Pioneers of Media Art will single out for recognition those outstanding personalities whose artistic creativity has not only laid the groundwork for media art as we know it today but also made key contributions to our current social reality with all of its specific forms of communication and cultural techniques. The job of nominating and selecting each year’s honoree will be entrusted to a very special jury made up of all artists who have themselves been honored with a Golden Nica since 1987.

In 2013, the number of submissions to the Prix Ars Electronica’s seven categories surpassed 4,000 for the first time. When this competition premiered in 1987, three categories attracted a total of 700 submissions. The Prix Ars Electronica has constantly grown and developed over the years, and made quite a name for itself in the process. It’s the world’s oldest and most renowned competition in media art. And a key reason for this success is the high quality of the judging. In each category, a five-person jury of international experts evaluates, critiques and discusses each entry and finally selects the best for honors. Due to the tremendous number of contestants this procedure now takes five whole days. So, to make a long story short, the Prix Ars Electronica has now arrived at its capacity limits.

Information on the Prix Ars Electronica is also available in German, Japanese & Chinese language

You can submit online in either English or German language

The Prix Ars Electronica is staged jointly by Ars Electronica Linz GmbH and the ORF – Austrian Broadcasting Company’s Upper Austria Regional Studio in cooperation with the OK Center for Contemporary Art and Brucknerhaus Linz.