News & events > Winners of Asia Pacific Screen Awards Announced
25 Nov 2012

Winners of Asia Pacific Screen Awards Announced

Tepenin Ardi (Beyond the Hill) a Turkey-Greece co-production was announced the Best Feature Film award at the sixth Asia Pacific Screen Awards, last Friday night at a glittering ceremony at the Queensland Performing Arts Centre in Brisbane, Australia. Awards and commendations went to films from eleven countries of Asia Pacific, including India, Indonesia, Iraqi-Kurdistan, Israel, Japan, People’s Republic of China, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Taiwan and Iraq. The International Jury also gave a High Commendation in the category of Best Feature Film to Bumchoiwaui Junjaeng (Nameless Gangster: Rules of the Time) from Republic of Korea, produced by Park Shin-kyu and Han Jae-duk.

Winner of two Asia Pacific Screen Awards in 2012, Sinapupunan (Thy Womb) from the Philippines saw Brillante Ma. Mendoza awarded with the Achievement in Directing prize, and iconic Filipino actress Nora Aunor take home the Best Performance by an Actress award. Brillante Ma. Mendoza was a guest of APSA in attendance at the APSA Jury Welcome Function earlier in the week.

In the category of Achievement in Directing, Cheng Er received the High Commendation for his film Lethal Hostage, from the People’s Republic of China. Darya Ekamasova received a High Commendation in the Best Performance by an Actress category, for her role in Zila bila odna baba (Once Upon a Time There Lived a Simple Woman), from the Russian Federation.

The APSA ceremony was attended by more than 700 Australian and international guests and filmmakers from across Asia Pacific, who represent the best of cinema from the region.

Via APSA Press Release dated 23/11/2012.

See Full Coverage here!