News & events > Man Asian Literary Prize shortlist announced
22 Jan 2013

Man Asian Literary Prize shortlist announced


Five novels showcasing a diversity and depth of writing were announced in the shortlist for the 2012 Man Asian Literary Prize. The selection presents distinctive and celebrated writers for the first time in a pan-Asian region-wide context.

The shortlist, which includes writers from five different countries, champions a debut novelist alongside a Nobel laureate, translated work as well as original writing in English, and includes smaller regional publishers as well as larger international houses.

The five shortlisted novels, selected from a longlist of 15, are:

Between Clay and Dust - Musharraf Ali Farooqi (Pakistan)

The Briefcase – Hiromi Kawakami (Japan)

Silent House - Orhan Pamuk (Turkey)

The Garden of Evening Mists - Tan Twan Eng (Malaysia)

Narcopolis - Jeet Thayil (India)

The winner, who will receive USD 30,000, will be announced on March 14th 2013 at a black tie Prize Dinner in Hong Kong, the home of the Prize. The translator, if any, will receive USD 5,000.

Last year’s winner, Please Look After Mom by South Korean writer Kyung-sook Shin has gone on to sell over 2m copies worldwide. Previous winners of the Prize include Bi Feiyu (2010), Su Tong (2009), Miguel Syjuco (2008) and Jiang Rong (2007).

Following the announcement of the 2012 winner in March 2013, the current sponsor Man Group will relinquish its title sponsorship. As of April 2013 a new title sponsor will sponsor the Asian Literary Prize. Negotiations with interested sponsors are currently ongoing, with an announcement to be made late April 2013.