News & events > 36th TIFF Winners Announced
22 Sep 2011

36th TIFF Winners Announced

The 36th Toronto International Awards (TIFF) came to a close last Sunday with the announcement of this year's winners.  Unlike other festivals, TIFF touts itself as a "people's festival" since the three main awards are selected by its audiences.  Over its 250 films participated in this edition. This year's top audience choices include "Where Do We Go Now?" by   Nadine Labaki (France/Lebanon/Italy/Egypt) winning  the Cadillac People's Choice Award;  "The Island President"   by Jon Shenk   (USA),   the Cadillac People’s Choice Documentary Award; and  "The Raid"   by Gareth Evans  (Indonesia), the Cadillac People’s Choice Midnight Madness Award.

[caption id="attachment_5770" align="alignright" width="290" caption="Scene from "Where Do We Go Now?""][/caption]

Other jury-based awardees were "Doubles With Slight Pepper"  by  Ian Harnarine  (Canada) bagging the  Award For Best Canadian Short Film;  "Avalon" by  Axel Petersén (Sweden),  Prize of the International Critics (FIPRESCI Prize) - Discovery; and  "The First Man"  by Gianni Amelio (France, Algeria, Italy),  the Prize of the International Critics (FIPRESCI Prize) - Special Presentations; and "Edwin Boyd" by  Nathan Morlando (Canada), The SKYY Vodka Award for Best Canadian First Feature Film.

The festival was held from 8 to 18 September 2011.