News & events > 2019 Asia-Pacific Heritage Awards: Winners Announced
19 Oct 2019

2019 Asia-Pacific Heritage Awards: Winners Announced

2019 Asia-Pacific Heritage Awards Winners The renewal of the historic Tai Kwun – Centre for Heritage and Arts in Hong Kong SAR, China, has received the Award of Excellence in this year’s UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation. 16 projects from 5 countries – Australia, Bhutan, China, India and New Zealand – have been recognised by the international Jury of conservation experts in this year’s Awards. The Jury met in August to review 57 entries from 14 countries across the Asia-Pacific region. The Jury praised the Award of Excellence winner, Tai Kwun – Centre for Heritage and Arts, stating:
“The transformation of the former Central Police Station into a world-class centre for heritage and arts has created a vibrant new civic space in the heart of the city’s central business district. The project tackled a complex site with multiple layers of history dating back to the mid-19th century, enhancing its legibility and opening it up to the public. The technical quality of the restoration work is standard-setting on an international level, ensuring the authenticity and integrity of the historic fabric.”  “Innovative architectural and engineering solutions are underpinned by meticulous investigation and rigorous conservation principles. The centre’s diverse and creative programming enlivens the historic space with engaging heritage interpretation programmes and contemporary arts and culture. Against tremendous commercial real estate pressures, the successful realization of Tai Kwun stands as a testimony to Hong Kong SAR’s commitment to heritage.” 
Other Awardees include:

Award of Distinction

  • Keyuan Garden, Suzhou, China
  • Vikram Sarabhai Library, Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad, India
  • Nelson School of Music, Nelson, New Zealand

 Award of Merit

  • Tseto Goenpa, Paro, Bhutan
  • Guyue Bridge, Chi’an Town, Zhejiang, China
  • Keneseth Eliyahoo Synagogue, Mumbai, India
  • Our Lady of Glory Church, Mumbai, India
  • Lyttelton Timeball Station, Christchurch, New Zealand

Honourable Mention

  • The 5s Classroom, Preshil The Margaret Lyttle Memorial School, Kew, Australia
  • Westpac Long Gallery, Australian Museum, Sydney, Australia
  • Liddell Bros. Packing Plant, Wuhan, China
  • Flora Fountain, Mumbai, India

New Design in Heritage Contexts

  • Joan Sutherland Theatre Passageway and Lift, Sydney Opera House, Sydney, Australia
  • Dry Pit Latrine in Jiaxian Ancient Jujube Garden, Nihegou Village, Shaanxi, China
  • The Mills, Hong Kong SAR, China

Further information

The UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation programme recognises the efforts of private individuals and organisations that have successfully restored and conserved structures and buildings of heritage value in the region. By recognising private efforts to restore and adapt historic properties, the Awards aim to encourage other property owners to undertake conservation projects within their communities, either independently or by seeking public-private partnerships. Awarded projects reflect a clear understanding and application of various criteria, such as the articulation of the spirit of place, technical achievement, appropriate use or adaption, and the project’s contribution to the surrounding environment as well as the local community’s cultural and historical continuity. The Call for Entries for the 2020 UNESCO Awards will be made at the end of 2019. For additional information about the 2019 edition, please visit