Resources > New Zealand Symphony Orchestra
27 Aug 2013

New Zealand Symphony Orchestra

The New Zealand Symphony Orchestra (NZSO) is the national orchestra of New Zealand. It is funded by the Government of New Zealand through the Ministry of Culture and Heritage, and has 90 full-time players.

Founded in 1946 as the National Orchestra (by Oswald Astley Cheesman and others) it was administered by Radio New Zealand until 1989, under the name of the NZBC Symphony Orchestra (New Zealand Broadcasting Corporation). It is currently based in the Michael Fowler Centre and frequently tours throughout New Zealand and internationally. 

Similar content