Opportunities > Kurt Jooss Prize 2019 | call for entries
24 Oct 2018

Kurt Jooss Prize 2019 | call for entries


The Kurt-Jooss-Prize is intended to encourage and foster choreographers not yet fully established in their profession, there are no restrictions as regards style or age. The prize is endowed with 10.000 Euros.

On the occasion of the 100th birthday of Kurt Jooss in 2001, the co-founder of the Folkwang School and founder of the Folkwang Dance Studio, an award was launched, the Dance Award for Young Choreographers. The foundation 'Anna and Herman Markard', Amsterdam and the City of Essen invite international applications for the "Kurt Jooss Prize" for dance. 

The Jury will include Martin Schläpfer, ballet director of the Ballett am Rhein Düsseldorf Duisburg , Reinhild Hoffmann, choreographer, Nils Christe, choreographer (NL), Muchtar Al Ghusain, Head of Cultural Affairs / City of Essen, Dr. Patricia Stöckemann, dance dramaturge /Theatre Osnabrück, Adolphe Binder, intendant and artistic director of Tanztheater Wuppertal, Lucie Conrad, Producer (GB).

Entry requirements and application forms are available through: Kulturbüro Essen, Hollestrasse 3, D-45121 Essen e-mail: alfons.wafner@kulturbuero.essen.de

Application without the completed application form will not be accepted.

Deadline for entries: 24 October 2018