Opportunities > FT/OppenheimerFunds Emerging Voices Awards
03 May 2016

FT/OppenheimerFunds Emerging Voices Awards


FT emergingvoices2016

The FT/OppenheimerFunds Emerging Voices Awards aims to recognise extraordinary artistic talent in three categories – fiction literature, film-making and art across more than 100 emerging market nations. Entrants from eligible emerging nations in Asia-Pacific region are invited to submit works of fiction published in English.

There is a remarkable structural shift in the world, propelled by economic progress in the developing markets and the advanced reach of the internet. More connectivity and greater variety of voices in the business, science and arts communities are leading to a new renaissance. The Financial Times and OppenheimerFunds are delighted to provide a platform to recognise the people contributing to these markets.

The Emerging Voices Awards will be open to passport holders of emerging nations in three categories:
1. Africa and the Middle East: including, but not limited to, paintings, drawings, sculptures, installations, photographs, prints and mixed media.
2. Asia-Pacific: Works of fiction published in English. 
3. Latin America and the Caribbean: Films in any language with English subtitles.

The Award will be presented to the author of a published work of fiction in English or published in English translation who is a national or passport holder of one of the eligible Asia-Pacific countries. The book must be a minimum of 20,000 words long and be written by a national or passport holder of one of the eligible countries of Asia-Pacific. Submissions are invited from all publishers worldwide.The book can be a novel or collection of short stories. Poems are not eligible. Self-published works will not be accepted for entry. The works must be published for the first time in the English language, or English translation between 1 January, 2015 and 23 September 2016. Books may be in print or digital form, or both. We ask that each publisher submits no more than three works.

Deadline for entries: 3 May 2016

The judges aim to reward those in each of the eligible art forms whose work shows outstanding talent and in some way furthers understanding of their region.

The longlist for each category will be announced on 6 June 2016. This will be followed by the announcement of three finalists on 5 August 2016 who will be invited to attend an awards ceremony in New York on 26 September 2016 where category winners will be announced.

The winner in each category will receive a prize award of $40,000 and will also be featured in a post event magazine and videos profiled on ft.com. Shortlisted runners up will receive $5,000.