Opportunities > David T K Wong Fellowship | writer's residency in UK
16 Jan 2012

David T K Wong Fellowship | writer's residency in UK


The David T. K. Wong Fellowship is a unique and generous annual award of £26,000 to enable a fiction writer who wants to write in English about the Far East to spend a year in the UK, at the University of East Anglia in Norwich.

Applicants can be of any age or nationality, and will need to submit an original, previously unpublished script of 2,500 words before the 16th January 2012. The fellowship will begin on 1st October 2012 .

Previous Fellows

Previous David T.K. Wong Fellows: Po Wah Lam (1998/99), José Dalisay (1999/2000), Simone Lazaroo (2000/1), Liisa Laing (2001/2), Wendy Law-Yone (2002/3), Lakambini Sitoy (2003/4), Rattawut Lapcharoensap (2004/5), Linh Dinh (2005/6), Mulaika Hijjas (2006/7), Balli Jaswal (2007/8), Nam Le (2008/9) and Hanh Hoang (2009/10).

Download the Fellowship Terms and Conditions

The Fellowship is named for its sponsor Mr. David Wong, a retired Hong Kong businessman, who has also been a teacher, journalist and senior civil servant, and is a novelist and writer of short stories himself. The Fellowship was launched in 1997 and the first Fellow appointed from 1st October 1998.

Image: Previous T. K Wong Fellows