Opportunities > UK | Writing Fellowships at University of East Anglia
31 Jan 2014

UK | Writing Fellowships at University of East Anglia


Creative Writing Banner

Two writing fellowships are offered for 2014-15 at UEA School of Literature, Drama and Creative Writing: the Charles Pick South Asia Fellowship and the David TK Wong Creative Writing Fellowship. The selected fellows will join a community of writers at UEA, whose graduates have won major literary prizes in Europe and Asia.

NOTE: there are different deadlines for the two Fellowships

The Charles Pick South Asia Writing Fellowship is dedicated to the memory of the distinguished publisher and literary agent, Charles Pick, whose career began in 1933 and continued until shortly before his death in January 2000. Charles Pick encouraged young writers at the start of their careers with introductions to other writers and practical and financial help.

The fellowship will give support to the work of a new and, as yet, unpublished writers of fictional or non-fictional prose. The Fellowship's dual purpose is to give a promising writer the opportunity complete a major work and to develop his/her talents.

The 2014-15 Fellowship is for six months, starting on 1 October. The award is £10,000 and includes accommodation on campus at the University of East Anglia.

DEADLINE - Charles Pick South Asia Writing Fellowship: 31 January 2014


The David T. K. Wong Creative Writing Fellowship is a unique and generous annual award of £26,000 to enable a fiction writer who wants to write in English about the Far East to spend a year in the UK, at the University of East Anglia in Norwich.

The Fellowship is named for its sponsor Mr David Wong, a retired Hong Kong businessman, who has also been a teacher, journalist and senior civil servant, and is a writer of fiction. The Fellowship was launched in 1997 and the first Fellow appointed from 1st October 1998.

The David Wong Fellow joins a community of writers founded by Sir Angus Wilson and Sir Malcolm Bradbury in 1971. UEA creative writing graduates include Tash Aw, Trezza Azzopardi, Martyn Bedford, John Boyne, Tracy Chevalier, Andrew Cowan, Diana Evans, Sue Fletcher, Kathryn Hughes, Kazuo Ishiguro, Toby Litt, Ian McEwan and Owen Sheers.

DEADLINE - David TK Wong Creative Writing Fellowship: 13 January 2014