Opportunities > Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2015 | call for entries
15 Nov 2014

Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2015 | call for entries


The 2015 Commonwealth Short Story Prize is open for entries. Entry is free. Each year, five winning writers are selected from five different Commonwealth regions who share a total prize money of £15,000. The overall winner receives £5,000, one of the highest amounts for an international short story prize open to unpublished writers. Regional winners receive £2,500.

2015 Commonwealth Short Story Prize: Eligibility

Entrants must be citizens of a Commonwealth country. The organisers will request verification of citizenship before winners are selected. Writers from non-Commonwealth countries (including the Republic of Ireland and Zimbabwe) are not eligible.

Within ASEM (Asia-Europe Meeting) the eligible countries are Cyprus, Malta, United Kingdom, Bangladesh, Brunei Darussalam, India, Malaysia, Pakistan and Singapore.

The full list of Commonwealth countries is here.

Check the full eligibility rules on the website.

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize brings stories from new and emerging voices, often from countries with little or no publishing infrastructure, to the attention of an international audience. You don’t need an agent, just an internet connection to submit your unpublished story of 2000-5000 words.

Entry is free. Stories translated into English are also eligible.

Closing date: 15 November 2014

Submit your short story via the online application form.

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is an initiative of Commonwealth Writers. Commonwealth Writers is the cultural initiative of the Commonwealth Foundation. It was set up in 2012 to inspire and connect writers and storytellers across the world. We believe that well-told stories can help people make sense of events, engage with others and take action to bring about change.