Opportunities > Call for articles for culture360.ASEF.org
15 May 2019

Call for articles for culture360.ASEF.org

culture360 call for peripheries articles

culture360.ASEF.org is currently looking for writers to produce features and interviews for our Magazine.

What is culture360.ASEF.org?

culture360.ASEF.org is an online platform offering up-to-date information on arts, culture & heritage from 51 countries in Asia & Europe. It is a website for artists, cultural professionals, policy makers and anyone interested in international cultural co-operation.

What type of articles/editorial content are we looking for?

In recent years, the arts and cultural sector has been shifting away from discussions concerning capital cities and the cultural centres of countries, where most social and institutional resources are concentrated.

Increasingly so, there has been a trend in decentralisation, bringing artists, cultural professionals and art organisations who operate or occupy the peripheries in an urban society, at the centre of the conversation on arts & culture.

In this context, culture360.ASEF.org is looking to commission a series of articles related to the topic of peripheries, be it smaller cities, islands or rural areas that are geographically distant from the big cultural centres.

Who can apply?

  • Writers must be a national of an ASEM member country[1]
  • Previous experience in writing articles is necessary
  • Knowledge or involvement in the Asian and European arts scene is an advantage
  • The writer will work in virtual capacity and need not be based in Singapore

How to apply?

Please send the following documents:

  • CV
  • Cover letter
  • Writing samples (maximum 2)
  • A brief outline of the article(s) you intend to contribute (maximum 2)

Note: Each commissioned article will be paid a fee of Singapore Dollars (SGD) 250.

Submit to Valentina RICCARDI, Senior Project Manager, Culture Department, ASEF: opencalls@culture360.org

Deadline for applications: 15 May 2019. Only shortlisted candidates will be notified.


[1] The Asia-Europe Meeting (ASEM) is an intergovernmental process established in 1996 to foster dialogue and cooperation between Asia and Europe. The 53 ASEM Partners are Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Cambodia, China, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea, the Lao PDR, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mongolia, Myanmar, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Pakistan, the Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, the Russian Federation, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, the United Kingdom, Viet Nam, the European Union and the ASEAN Secretariat. For more information, please visit www.ASEMinfoboard.org.