News & events > Poland | Five Flavours Asian Film Festival
15 Nov 2017 - 22 Nov 2017

Poland | Five Flavours Asian Film Festival


The Five Flavours Asian Film Festival runs 15-22 November in Poland. The 11th edition of Five Flavours takes place from 15 to 22 November in Warsaw's Muranów and Kinoteka cinemas and at the Museum of Modern Art. The programme includes over forty feature films and nine short films. Eight selected pictures are also screened in Wrocław at the New Horizons Cinema.

The majority of the films will be shown in Poland for the first time and the festival will host a number of guests from Asia. The festival screens films from South East, East and South Asia and is the only film event in Poland focused primarily on Asian Cinema. For eleven consecutive years, Five Flavours has brought to Poland premiere screenings of the latest and most appealing productions, classics and retrospectives of renowned Asian filmmakers. Previous editions saw the pioneering programs of cinema from Vietnam, Thailand, Taiwan, Malaysia, Singapore, Hong Kong.

The program of the Festival is comprised mostly of titles unknown in Poland, unavailable in regular distribution. The wide selection includes auteur cinema, as well as high-quality genre cinema; daring works of independent filmmakers and commercial blockbusters which hold a special place in the cinematic landscape of Asia. The previous editions of Five Flavours included pioneering retrospectives of cinema from Vietnam, Thailand, Taiwan, Malaysia, Singapore, and Hong Kong.

Each year, the New Asian Cinema competition section is the highlight of Five Flavours program. It's a selection of the most original and wildly discussed new productions from East, Southeast and South Asia.


Most of the competition screenings will be followed by a Q&A meetings with the festival's guests. Among the filmmakers who will introduce their movies at 11th Five Flavours are Ho Yuhang (Malaysia), Le Binh Giang (Vietnam), Mouly Surya (Indonesia), Dechen Roder (Bhutan), Heiward Mak (Hong Kong), Daisuke Miyazaki (Japan) and Katsuya Tomita (Japan).


The winner of the 3,500 EUR Grand Prix sponsored by Polish Film Institute will be chosen by People’s Jury, made up of cinema enthusiasts and fans of Asian culture. Another honorary award-winner will be chosen by the Jury of NETPAC, The Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema.