Opportunities > Casa Asia Award 2012
31 May 2012

Casa Asia Award 2012


The Casa Asia Award is granted annually in order to distinguish individuals, institutions and organisations that have excelled in promoting awareness, dialogue and harmony among societies of Spain and the Asia Pacific region. Call for nominations.

Based in Barcelona, Casa Asia promotes initiatives and projects that contribute to a better understanding, dialogue and relations between the societies of the Asia-Pacific Region and Spain. The annual Casa Asia Award aims to recognise and publicise the work of individuals and entities, public or private, that have encouraged this objective and/or have done an outstanding work for the dignity and Human Rights in the Asia-Pacific Region.

Accordingly, Casa Asia has announced the 2012 Casa Asia Award on the following rules:

Nominations can be presented by individuals, institutions or entities from Spain or the Asia-Pacific Region. Candidates can be either individuals or institutions from these areas too.

Proposals must properly document the natural or legal personality of the applicant and the merits of the candidate. They must be submitted in duplicate, specifying the destination to "Casa Asia Award 2011" by May 31, 2012 to the address listed below (the material delivered to submit nominations will not be returned):

Av. Diagonal, 373
08008 Barcelona

The Award can be granted ex aequo. It can also be declared void, in which case, its endowment will not accumulate. It can be granted posthumously. The decision will be unappealable. The Award will consist of 6.000 euros in cash. The Award will be given in an event organised by Casa Asia.

Download pdf. application guidelines [in Catalan, Spanish & English]

Thanks to Llobet & Pons for this opportunity!

Image: The 2011 Casa Asia Award went to the Malaysian NGO Sisters in Islam, an organization of Muslim women that aims to articulate women's rights in Islam, highlighting the need to interpret the Koran in its own historical and cultural context. Picture: Ratna Osman and Zainah Anwar accepting the 2011 Award.