News & events > Jaipur Literature Festival 2011
21 Jan 2011 - 25 Jan 2011

Jaipur Literature Festival 2011

[caption id="attachment_7628" align="alignright" width="432" caption="Rupika Chawla & Sudha Gopalakrishnan, Jaipur Literature Festival 2010"][/caption] The DSC Jaipur Literature Festival - considered Asia-Pacific’s leading literature event - is a celebration of national and international writers and encompasses a range of activities including poetry, music & dance, debates, readings, impassioned panel discussions and workshops. Entering its sixth year, the festival has already hosted some of the best-known national and international writers & personalities including Salman Rushdie, Wole Soyinka, Ian McEwan, Vikram Seth, Niall Ferguson, Roberto Calasso, Roddy Doyle, Lawrence Wright, Kiran Desai, Pico Iyer, Simon Schama, Thomas Keneally, Hanif Kureishi, Vikram Chandra, Steve Coll, Daniyal Mueenuddin, Hari Kunzru, Mohammed Hanif, Colin Thubron, Suketu Mehta, Andrew O’Hagan, Geoff Dyer, Amit Chaudhuri, Fatima Bhutto, Michael Frayn, Stephen Frears, Alexander McCall Smith, Donna Tartt, Tina Brown, Shashi Tharoor, Mohammed Hanif, Paul Zacharia, John Berendt, Christopher Hampton, Nadeem Aslam, among many others. Check out the list of speakers for 2011 Festival. The festival is free and open to all. No prior registration is required. The Directors of the DSC Jaipur Literature Festival are William Dalrymple and Namita Gokhale.