News & events > Fukuoka Prize 2018 Laureates announced
04 Jul 2018

Fukuoka Prize 2018 Laureates announced


Laureates of the Fukuoka Prize 2018 have been announced in Japan. The Grand Prize is awarded to the Chinese filmmaker Jia Zhangke. The Arts & Culture Prize goes to Teejan Bai, the Indian musician and contemporary exponent of Pandavani narrative singing. Nominations are open for the 30th Fukuoka Prize, inviting academic institutions, arts and culture organisations and others to submit by 30 September 2018.

Mr. Jia Zhangke is one of the most outstanding film directors of 21st century China. His films, set in provincial Chinese cities, and especially his native Shanxi Province, offer masterfully realistic presentation of ordinary Chinese people who have suffered from but have also managed to chart their own course through the social tensions caused by rapid economic progress, and particularly of the younger generation's hopes and claustrophobic frustrations. They have won high praise both in China and across the world.

Dr. Teejan Bai is a leading performing artist and a contemporary exponent of Pandavani, a narrative singing of the Mahabharata, the ancient Indian epic. Although she suffered doubly in Indian society from prejudice both as a woman, and for her tribal background, with her rare artistic gift and powerful determination, she has kept singing. Her success has given courage and encouragement to women and those suffering from repression.

The Fukuoka Prize 2018 Award ceremony takes place on September 20 2018

Nominations open for the 30th Fukuoka Prize

Deadline : September 30, 2018

We are pleased to invite academic institutions, arts and culture organizations, and news media from various countries and regions, especially from the regions of Asia to submit nominations for the Fukuoka Prize.

Prizes shall be presented to individuals or organizations that have made outstanding achievements in their respective fields and are expected to make further contributions in the future. We also welcome your nominations for those from the younger generations.

Please read the Nomination Guidelines before nominations, then enter the necessary information in the online form, or send the completed nomination form(s) by mail, e-mail, or fax to the Secretariat of the Fukuoka Prize Committee.

The Fukuoka Prize was established in 1990. It is awarded in Fukuoka City in Kyushu, Japan and is seen as a means of showing respect to those who have made outstanding contributions to academia, arts, and culture in Asia. The organisers intend, together with the people of Fukuoka, to advertise to the world through our city, the diversity and the distinctiveness of Asian culture.

Grand Prize: 5,000,000 JPY

Arts and Culture Prize: 3,000,000 JPY