Resources > Australian National Commission for UNESCO
15 May 2012

Australian National Commission for UNESCO

UNESCO is the only institution in the United Nations system with a mandate in the field of culture. In accordance with its Constitution, the Organisation assists its Member States in updating their cultural policies.

One of its aims is to help Member States formulate appropriate responses to those challenges posed by cultural diversity in all of its forms – be they heritage-related, contemporary or creative activities – as well as those posed by its corollary, i.e., intercultural dialogue. These policies pertain not only to the field of culture proper but also to the role that culture should play in other areas of development.

The Australian National Commission for UNESCO International Organisations Branch is the Australian Government focal point for the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO). The National Commission provides expert analysis and policy advice to the Australian Government on UNESCO matters and acts as a point of liaison between government, the community and UNESCO in Australia.

UNESCO was established in 1946 as a specialised agency of the United Nations. UNESCO's mandate includes education, the natural sciences, the social and human sciences, culture and communications/information technology. Australia is a founding member. There are currently 193 Member States.