Opportunities > UNESCO IFCD applications call 2020 | DEADLINE EXTENDED!
16 Jun 2020

UNESCO IFCD applications call 2020 | DEADLINE EXTENDED!

UNESCO accepts applications for the International Fund for Cultural Diversity (IFCD) 2020. The IFCD finances initiatives that stimulate the Cultural and Creative Industries in eligible developing countries.

The Fund is known among cultural professionals around the world as a champion in the funding of innovative and dynamic projects. Over the past 10 years, the IFCD has provided more than 8 million USD to 114 projects in 58 developing countries.

At the heart of the Fund is its commitment towards sustainable development. Creative sectors have an immense potential to contribute to prosperous societies – both economically and culturally. From bringing cinema to rural communities in Senegal to strengthening music production in Tajikistan, it invest in creativity, and creativity transforms societies.

UNESCO invites public authorities/institutions and NGOs from eligible countries as well as international NGOs to submit projects that lead to sustainable development and structural change through:

  • Introduction and/or elaboration of policies and strategies that have a direct impact on the creation, production, distribution of and access to a diversity of cultural goods, services and activities;
  • Reinforcement of skills in public sector and civil society organizations to support viable local and regional cultural industries and markets in developing countries.

The IFCD is a multi-donor fund established by the UNESCO Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions (2005). It contributes to the vision of a world where creativity is celebrated fully and compensated fairly.

The 11th Call for Applications was extended to close on 16 June 2020, 11:59PM Paris time.

Eligible countries for Call for Applications 2020 (developing countries that have ratified the 2005 Convention) - in the ASEM region, the eligible countries are: Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, India, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Mongolia, Viet Nam.