Opportunities > New Technological Art Award | call for entries
31 Mar 2016

New Technological Art Award | call for entries


Call for entries for the New Technological Art Award (NTAA), an international art competition of the Liedts-Meesen Foundation, which is part of the biennial Update. The biennial Update_6/ NTAA 2016 will take place between November 5th and December 4th, 2016 at Zebrastraat Ghent – Belgium

DEADLINE: March 31st, 2016

The mission of the Update biennial events
Update’s mission is to expand the scope of contemporary artistic creations and traditional media with works using contemporary and new technologies in an original and intelligent way: treatment of sounds and light, use of new media, application of innovative evolutions in communications, telecommunications and broadcasting, centered on the world of information, communication, and computers and interaction. These descriptions are in no way restrictive and should be interpreted in the broadest way possible.

General guidelines for entry in the NTAA competition
The aim of the competition is to present works in accordance with Update’s mission. The submitted work may have been exhibited previously, but the jury reserves the right to exclude creations that turn out to be not realizable within the limits of the practical possibilities of the Liedts-Meesen Foundation, keeping in mind that the works will be displayed during the exhibition. The basic equipment is available and at the disposal of the selected artists; specific and special equipment must be provided for and lent by the artists for the duration of the exhibition.

Eligibility and submission details
This international competition is open to all age groups and to all nationalities. English is the working language.

A cash award will be allocated to a work and to its creator. Moreover, the jury reserves the right to award an honorable mention to an artist. The Liedts-Meesen Foundation and the jury reserve the right to not award the prize and to transfer it to the next edition. There will also be a prize of the European Commission. The winners will be announced at the final day of the exhibition.