

Short-Story-Prize-logo1-618x325

The 2016 Commonwealth Short Story Prize is now open for entry. The competition brings stories from new and emerging voices, often from countries with little or no publishing infrastructure, to the attention of an international audience.

The Prize is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction (2,000-5,000 words) in English, written by a citizen of a Commonwealth country. Short stories translated into English from other languages are also eligible.

Each year, we select five winning writers from five different Commonwealth regions. Regional winners receive £2,500 (US\$3,835) and the overall winner will receive £5,000 (US\$7,670). If the winning short story is a translation into English, the translator will receive equal prize money. Entry is free.

Deadline for entries: 1st November 2015

Eligibility

• Entrants must be citizens of a Commonwealth country - please see the list of Commonwealth countries below. The Commonwealth Foundation will request verification of citizenship before winners are selected. Writers from non-Commonwealth countries (including the Republic of Ireland and Zimbabwe) are not eligible.

• All entries must be in English

 The story must be original and should not have been published anywhere in full or in part before 1 May 2016. Published work is taken to mean published in any printed, publicly accessible form, e.g. anthology, magazine, newspaper. It is also taken to mean published online, with the exception of personal blogs and personal websites.

Please read the <u>full guidelines</u>

Prize regions

Africa: Botswana, Cameroon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia. Overseas Territories: St Helena, Tristan Da Cunha, Ascension Island.

Asia: Bangladesh, Brunei Darussalam, India, Malaysia, Maldives, Pakistan, Singapore, Sri Lanka.

Canada and **Europe:** Canada, **Cyprus, Malta, United Kingdom.** Overseas Territories: Gibraltar, Falkland Islands.

Caribbean : Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago. Overseas Territories: Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Montserrat, Turks and Caicos Islands.

Pacific: **Australia,** Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, **New Zealand**, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu. Overseas Territory: Pitcairn.

POSTED ON

04 OCT 2016

Similar content

POSTED ON **17 SEP 2021**

2022 Commonwealth Short Story Prize Prize entries are open



POSTED ON 18 OCT 2019







Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2019

POSTED ON

18 OCT 2018

2021 Commonwealth Short Story Prize POSTED ON 13 NOV 2013

2014 Commonwealth Short Story Prize







tory Prize Ellah Allfrey (chair) Doreen Baingana Marlon James Michelle de Kret Jeet Thayil Courttia Newlan

ABOUT ASEF CULTURE360

culture360.asef.org brings Asia and Europe closer by providing information, facilitating dialogue and stimulating reflection on the arts and culture of the two regions.

MORE ABOUT ASEF CULTURE360 | FAQ

G X 0

ASIA-EUROPE FOUNDATION (ASEF) 2017 | TERMS OF SERVICE & PRIVACY POLICY | CREATIVE COMMONS ATTRIBUTION - NON COMMERCIAL SHARE

