15 May 2012

Australian Society of Authors

The Australian Society of Authors is the professional association for Australia's literary creators. The ASA was formed in 1963 to promote and protect the rights of Australia's writers and illustrators, and now has almost 3000 members across Australia.

The ASA was instrumental in setting up the Copyright Agency Limited and the Australian Copyright Council, and successfully campaigned for Public Lending Right in 1975 and Educational Lending Right in 2000. The ASA is continually acting as an advocate for the rights of professional authors.

The ASA administers the ASA Medal , awarded biennially, and the Barbara Jefferis Award, awarded each year for the best novel written by an Australian author that depicts women and girls in a positive way or otherwise empowers the status of women and girls in society.

The ASA sets minimum rates for pay and conditions for authors and illustrators, and publishes books, papers and lists for emerging and established writers. Members receive our journal, Australian Author, and regular newsletters throughout the year. They provide a contract advisory service, run mentorships for new and emerging writers and offer advice about writing, copyright and publishing.